I'm Going to Keep this Short

stories worth telling and an occasional deep thought


A Long Walk to Freedom by Nelson Mandela

Published by

on

At 115 chapters, this may be the most appropriately titled book ever and I will admit to accidentally losing my place a few times. I will not, however, criticize Nelson Mandela for not being a better writer (especially since he didn’t write, but dictated–as I learned in the interview with the co-writer at the end of the audiobook). His life was dedicated to a different purpose.

There are nuggets of gold amid the tedious details and confusing acronyms. They are random and unexpected, so there’s no way to skim through in order to find them.

Nelson Mandela spoke often of his friends, peers and mentors and how they influenced him and contributed to the cause. I found that particularly meaningful. It’s my own belief that when we absorb the best of those around us, we become who we are meant to be. Nelson Mandela is a great example of what that looks like.

A Long Walk to Freedom is not an easy book to work through, but I’m glad I did it. I learned a great deal. I like Nelson Mandela. He did good things.

The audiobook is very well done. The narrator is great. His accent is charming. I can’t speak to the accuracy of his pronunciation. I assume it is correct. I would have been lost without him.

My rating: It’s a must

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started